HD x-rays - opinions wanted - Page 1

Pedigree Database

 

by D.H. on 16 August 2007 - 19:08

I have posted this in a previous thread, but it just died on me. And it really should be a new thread anyways. Below is an x-ray of a one year old SV bred GSD. I have reduced the file size a bit for those on dial up.

What a-stamp or OFA rating do you think this x-ray should get? Would you breed to this dog or use it for breeding yourself? Do you think this dog will stay healthy? Those who have seen them before (per private eMail) please do not reveal info yet. Lets get some opinions first.


by D.H. on 16 August 2007 - 19:08

X-ray Nr.2. Different dog, but also one year SV bred GSD. Same questions as above. Plus, which hips do you think are better?


EKvonEarnhardt

by EKvonEarnhardt on 16 August 2007 - 19:08

I am not a expert on hips but I would say # two left hip has some early changes going on  and the positing of the hips are not good.


Don Corleone

by Don Corleone on 16 August 2007 - 19:08

I can tell you this much, the top is a male and the bottom is a female.

Uneducated guess, I would say closer to good than fair on the top and the left looks better than the right (reverse on X-ray) on the bottom.


by gsdlvr2 on 16 August 2007 - 20:08

To me the first one is either excellent or good and the 2nd one is fair. In the second one the right hip is not as good as the left hip but the positioning on the second one is not very good.

PowerHaus

by PowerHaus on 16 August 2007 - 20:08

my opinion is that X-Ray #2 is a good example of poor positioning.  The pelvis should be a mirror immage on each side of the spine, especially the "wing" looking area under the femur should be symetrical.  Also too in this x-ray the legs are not rotated enough for the patellas to be straight up and down. I do think this affects the out come of the overall evaluation.  The hip sockets appear to be a little shallow to me.

The #1 x-ray I do not like because the femoral head is too square for my liking. 

If they are not the same dog, I would probably go with dog #2 because it appears that the hip sockets are deeper and there seems to be a little lax-ness(not really a word) in the right hip, but I think this is due to poor postioning!

I would not breed to either dog based on MY opinion though, only if they are stamped or OFAed.

Overall, I am glad I pay OFA to read these!  I am not an expert at all!

 

Vickie

www.PowerHausKennels.com


by gsdlvr2 on 16 August 2007 - 20:08

good observation Vickie, you're right ,the femoral head is a bit square, I didn't notice it at first-long day. Given that, I would not call that one excellent. Also,on the second one the exposure could be better in addition to the poor positioning. I wouldn't submit that one at all but re-take it and see if you can get a better picture to submit. I'm not an expert though. JMO

by Blitzen on 16 August 2007 - 20:08

The head isn't really squar., we


by stephenitz on 16 August 2007 - 20:08

dog/x-ray #1 i would want to see this dog in motion and watch for any signs (bunny hopping).the hips r seated over 50% but some concern with shape of head.the flattening could be start of problem.#2 needs to be x-rayed again for better positioning.they seem to be seated well and how long from last cycle(female).


by Blitzen on 16 August 2007 - 21:08

Sorry, hit the wrong button.

Heads aren't really square, that's where the joint capsule attaches. The OFA likes to see that and that's why they ask for the knees to be on the xray and rotated inwardly. Otherwise, that attachment is not visible.

My guess is good maybe excellent on the first depending on the mood of the OFA readers; fair to borderline on the second.  Both would be preliminary findings from OFA, dogs are not yet old enough for certification. Do not know what the SV ratings would be. I'd probably use the first dog based on that xray, but would hold off on the second for another look in a year. Would like to see a better positioned xray on the second one too.  The exposure looks OK to me. I'd also like to know if #2 dog was anesthesized for the xray.

If we're not radiologists, none of us can claim to be experts on hips. We just have opinions. Even the SV and the OFA can't agree on rating, so why should we . In my experience, per OFA,  the same dog can be mildy dysplastic on one film, OFA good  on another taken in the same month.

Thanks, D.H, for an educational discussion.






 


Contact information  Disclaimer  Privacy Statement  Copyright Information  Terms of Service  Cookie policy  ↑ Back to top