Opinions please - Page 1

Pedigree Database

 

by nick3981 on 02 October 2015 - 21:10

Can someone please take a look at this pups pedigree and let me know what you think, me and my wife are currently searching for a new addition to our family and he will only be a pet no show or sport just obediance.  I have seen GSD with hip problems before and I really want to avoid future problems if possible. 

http://www.pedigreedatabase.com/german_shepherd_dog/dog.html?id=2396202-seiko-von-wyzal


by vk4gsd on 02 October 2015 - 21:10

A few gaps in the hip scores. What is in the contract? Hopefully others familiar with the lines will chime in.

Have you considered an older but still young dog to reduce risk. Some excellent dogs don't make the grade for competition.

by hntrjmpr434 on 02 October 2015 - 21:10

Good to see lots of health tested dogs in pedigree. There are a few missing HD/ED results. Could be missing information, or they aren't tested. Please keep in mind that dogs with excellent orthopedics can produce poor orthopedics, so don't think you are 100% safe.
Temperament is obviously going to be important for an enjoyable pet. If you can, go visit kennel And spend time with the pup.
I have no knowledge with SL pedigrees, hopefully another member on here does and can provide some insight on these specific dogs.
Good luck, I hope you find a good match!

by hntrjmpr434 on 02 October 2015 - 21:10

Forgot to mention contract, yes that is important.
Older pup(~6months) with xrays may be a better plan if you are concerned about HD.

by Blitzen on 02 October 2015 - 22:10

I've known Nocturne's Trevor since he was born. I owned his granddam. He comes from a very nice litter, many generations of titled dogs with hip and elbow clearances and great temperaments. He and all his littermates cleared their hip and elbow xrays, all are DM normal,  and most are titled in both SV and AKC venues. I tried to buy Trevor when he was offered for sale a few months ago.  He has a very strong pedigree of healthy, long lived dogs behind him. I hope he has a good home so if anyone knows who owns him now, I'd appreciate hearing.

I know nothing about the dam.

PS almost every dog in Trevor's dam's 3 generation pedigree has had hip and elbow xrays and all have been rated A1, OFA normal, or both.

 


by hntrjmpr434 on 02 October 2015 - 22:10

Good info and news for the op to have, blitzen.

Hundmutter

by Hundmutter on 03 October 2015 - 02:10

Given where the gaps are located, I would want to see proof of
the OFA rating of Excellent on the dam, before I bought this pup.
The good results on her own dam's side could be totally negated
by the state of the hips and/or elbows on her sire's quarter of the
pedigree.

by old shatterhand on 03 October 2015 - 02:10

I agree with Hundmutter,the mother side is very weak ,no titles on few generations,no hips elbows x-rays. I would ask about the proof of the excellent hips rating of the mother as well.to me mother side is always more importent than the father side.Beside the pup on the picture looks to me small and underweight for his age,seems like he may have some health problems ,he is skinny,bulging eyes ,dull coat,never mind the hips yet,he may have some digestive problem as well,gargia,warms,and who knows what else.

by Blitzen on 03 October 2015 - 02:10

Not a breeding I'd have made were I successful in purchasing Trevor.


by old shatterhand on 03 October 2015 - 03:10

I forgot to add something.To me just horrible breeding.






 


Contact information  Disclaimer  Privacy Statement  Copyright Information  Terms of Service  Cookie policy  ↑ Back to top